Wine sub regions of Chianti -A Definitive Guide

The region of Chianti can be found in Tuscany, of which the capital is Florence. The 8 wine sub-regions of Chianti are. Classico Tuscany, Colli Fiorentini, Chianti Rufina, Colli Aretini, Colli Senesi, Colline Pisane, Montespertoli, and Montalbano.

The entire region of Chianti extends over 100 miles. Each of these separate territories can produce Chianti wine but each area differs slightly. Just because red wine is produced in Chianti does not make it a Chianti Wine. However, most definitely cannot be called Chianti if it is not produced in one of the sub-regions of Chianti.

Chianti Classico

The Chianti Classico region is the most famous part of Chianti. It mainly covers Radda, Gaiole, Castellina, and Greve. Chianti Classico is the only region to hold its own DOCG. These wines have the most possibility of aging. Experts for these reasons consider the Chianti Classico region to be one of the more prestigious regions in Chianti Tuscany.

Chianti Colli Fiorentini

The Colli Fiorentini area is located just outside of, you guessed it, Florence. The wine produced here may not be as renowned as other regions. However, it is usually light, young and easy to drink.

Chianti Montalbano

Farmers usually produce Montalbano wine and sell it with the concept of consuming it as a young wine sub regions of chianti. You can find the area north and west of Florence and relies on sandstone soil for its light fruity flavor.

Chianti Rufina

Chianti Rufina is the other most well-recognized area of Chianti. The elevated area leads to more weather soil and grapes. This adds to the taste of the Chianti Rufina in a way that is not possible in other areas. Furthermore, Rufina is just a short drive east of Florence.

Chianti Colli Aretini

The Colli Aretini area is located in Arezzo with parts bordering the Chianti Classico zone. Colli Aretini wine sub regions of chianti are quite famous. They tend to be simpler than other Chianti wines and with high acidity.

Chianti Colli Senesi

The Colle Senesi zone overlaps with some of the most renowned vineyard zones in Italy. For example, Brunello di Montalcino and Vernaccia di San Gimignano. The quality of the soil and land in the region is higher than in most other Chianti regions. HowIts more famous neighbors overshadow Colli Senesi so it doesn’t quite get the attention is deserves.

Chianti Colline Pisane

The Colline Pisane zone is oftentimes the forgotten region of Chianti as it is set a little further from the rest of the Chianti areas. You can find Colline Pisane close to Pisa. The vineyards are lower than the other territories and closer to the sea providing the perfect climate for light fruity wine.

Chinati Montespertoli

Montespertoli was originally a part of the Colli Fiorentini region. It was given its own designation firstly in 1997. so it sets itself apart from the other regions. Balance and lush are typical of the wine in this area

About the Author


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.